• ABPT COVID-19 STATEMENT

    The Alabama Board of Physical Therapy provided guidelines for patients and practitioners during the COVID-19 crisis. CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO

  • WELLNESS PROGRAM

    The Alabama Board of Physical Therapy provides an impaired Practioners program for all licensees. If you are current licensee finding yourself with an addiction, there is help.

    CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO

  • 2020 LICENSE RENEWAL

    License renewal period runs July 1, 2020 through October 1, 2020. All Licenses expire at midnight October 1st. Ten hours of continuing education is required (8 hrs standard CE, 2 hrs AL Law) upon renewal.

    CLICK HERE TO RENEW YOUR LICENSE.

  • FILING A COMPLAINT

    The Alabama Board of Physical Therapy receives complaints against its licensees and will determine if the complaint falls within its jurisdiction; if so, an investigation will be conducted. CLICK HERE TO LEARN MORE ABOUT FILING A COMPLAINT.

IMPORTANT 2020 LICENSE RENEWAL INFORMATION

ANNUAL RENEWAL FEE

Due to the effect of the COVID19 crisis effect on employment for licensees, the members of the Alabama Board of Physical Therapy at their June 16, 2020 meeting voted to reduce the annual renewal fees for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants to $10 for the 2020 renewal period that begins July 1st and runs through October 1st.

It should be noted that this fee reduction is only available to current licensees. If one is currently expired, they will still have to renew through the expired license renewal and restoration process.


Jurisprudence CE Requirement

Licensees are reminded that this year’s continuing education requirement of 2 hours of Alabama Physical Therapy jurisprudence as part of the total 10 hour CE renewal requirement is still in effect. Below are some links to known Alabama Jurisprudence CE providers. This list is not exclusive, but just a few sources that we have knowledge providing an acceptable course. Licensees may search for others that provide a course that will meet the requirement. The requirement for the course is a minimum of two-hour review of the Alabama Physical Therapy Practice Act and Administrative Code. General physical therapy ethics courses may apply to your other 8 hours of CE required but does not meet the 2 hour AL Jurisprudence requirement.


The compliance period for all continuing education covers courses taken from October 1, 2018 to present. If you were a new graduate, licensed by Examination in the past year, and this is your first renewal, no continuing education is required for your renewal.


Renew Your License Here.



Available Services

Click here to renew your expired license or access other available services.

Licensee Status

Click here to view the current status of physical therapists and physical therapist assistants licensed in Alabama.

It is vitally important that all Alabama citizens participate in the 2020 census to maintain congressional representation, improve roads and bridges, health care and so much more. Click here for more information.